About us

  Home > Box Office >

Concerts at King's: From Russia with Love
Concerts at King's: From Russia with Love

Price: £12.50

Availability: E-ticket sent via email (See T&Cs)
Tickets available on the door


From Russia with Love

Glazunov Prelude & Fugue in D minor
Shostakovich String Quartet No.3 in F major
Beethoven String Quartet in E minor Op.59 No.2 ‘Razumovsky’

Dante Quartet
Krysia Osostowicz violin
Oscar Perks violin
Yuko Inoue viola

Richard Jenkinson cello

Count Razumovsky generously supported Beethoven and commissioned the set of three opus 59s; however, he asked Beethoven to include a Russian theme in each of the quartets in honour of his Russian heritage. In the midst of Stalinist oppression, Shostakovich wrote his String Quartet No.3 in 1946 after his Symphony No.9 was censured by Soviet authorities, while Glazunov’s rarely heard Prelude & Fugue pays passionate homage to Bach. Concerts at King’s returns with the Dante Quartet, ‘From Russia with Love’.

Student tickets priced at £5 are available from the King's College Visitor Centre on production of valid student ID.

NB: All concert tickets are subject to a £1 booking fee (described as a shipping fee)

Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »