About us

  Home > CD >

  Nine Lessons and Carols 2008

Alternative Views:

Price: £12.99

Availability: Usually Ships in 2 to 3 Business Days


A live recording of the 2008 A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols. This double CD, released 2 November 2009, brings you the quintessential sound of Christmas.

The recording includes both traditional and modern carols. Some of the traditional carols are well known (O Come, All Ye Faithful; God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen; Hark! The Herald-Angels Sing), whilst others are less so (Angels from the Realms of Glory; Infant Holy, Infant Lowly; A Spotless Rose). Modern carols include Illuminare Jerusalem by Judith Weir (1985), What Sweeter Music by John Rutter (1987) and Mary, commissioned from Dominic Muldowney for the 2008 service.

Listen to an extract from the CD: Glory, alleluia to the Christ Child! by Alan Bullard.

The 2008 Festival marked the 80th anniversary of its first BBC broadcast in 1928 and the start of a year-long celebration of the 800th anniversary of Cambridge University.

Track listing:

1. Once In Royal David's City (Processional Hymn)
2. Bidding Prayer - The Lord's Prayer - Blessing Ian Thompson
3. If Ye Would Hear The Angels Sing
4. First Lesson - Genesis 3
5. Remember, O Thou Man
6. Adam Lay Ybounden
7. Second Lesson - Genesis 22
8. Angels From The Realms Of Glory
9. Canticum Beatae Mariae Virginis Seu Magnificat (Hamburg, 1602): In Dulci Jubilo
10. Third Lesson - Isaiah 9
11. Nowell Sing Ye Now
12. Unto Us Is Born A Son
13. Fourth Lesson - Isaiah 11
14. The Lamb
15. A Spotless Rose
16. Fifth Lesson - St Luke 1
17. I Sing Of A Maiden
18. Mary
19. Sixth Lesson - St Luke 2
20. Wither's Rocking Hymn

1. What Sweeter Music
2. Seventh Lesson - St Luke 2
3. Infant Holy, Infant Lowly
4. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
5. Eighth Lesson - St Matthew 2
6. Illuminare Jerusalem
7. Glory, Alleluia To The Christ Child!
8. Ninth Lesson - St John 1
9. O Come, All ye Faithfull
10. Prayer & Blessing
11. Hark! The herald-Angels Sing
12. In Dulci Jubilo BWV 729

Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »