About us

  Home > Box Office >

Cambridge Summer Music Festival Opening: Mozart Requiem

Price: £15.00

Availability: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 Business Days


Orpheus Sinfonia
Festival Chorus
Conductor: Stephen Cleobury

Gemma Summerfield: soprano
Elizabeth Fleming: contralto
Nick Pritchard: tenor
Christopher Webb: bass

Elgar Serenade for Strings in E minor, Op.20
Mozart Requiem Mass in D minor K626

Mozart’s unfinished Requiem, composed while he was also completing two operas, is one of the most poignant and beautiful works in the choral repertoire. Imagine his friends visiting him the night before his death to sing through what had so far been written, and Mozart writing the last notes he ever composed: the first eight bars of the Lacrimosa, and you have a piece that has been in the hearts of singers and listeners alike for the last two hundred years.

The Festival Chorus, made up of singers from choirs around East Anglia, join the Orpheus Sinfonia to perform this great work. Stephen Cleobury directs the choir and orchestra plus a quartet of top soloists in the wonderful setting of King’s College Chapel.

Twinned perfectly with the Requiem is Elgar’s serene Serenade in E minor for Strings. Where Mozart’s piece was his last, the Serenade was one of Elgar’s first, and was in fact declared by Elgar to be his favourite work.

Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »