About us

  Home > CD >

Mozart Requiem: Realisations (KGS0002)
Mozart Requiem: Realisations (KGS0002)

Alternative Views:

Price: £13.00

Availability: Usually Ships in 24 to 48 Hours


Mozart Requiem: Realisations is an exploration of the history and influence of Mozart’s famous Requiem. It begins with a full recording of the Requiem in the popular completion by Mozart’s pupil and amanuensis, Franz Xaver Süssmayr, followed by full movements completed by other composers including Michael Finnissy and Duncan Druce.

The second disc presents a 68-minute audio documentary on the musical roots of the Requiem written by the renowned Mozart scholar Cliff Eisen, featuring musical examples from the requiem and the works from which it draws inspiration, highlighting striking similarities between Mozart’s work and that of several contemporaries and predecessors.

The Choir, conducted by its Director of Music, Stephen Cleobury, is joined for the recording by the Academy of Ancient Music playing period instruments. The soloists are Elin Manahan Thomas, Christine Rice and former King’s College choral scholars, James Gilchrist and Christopher Purves.

Disc one

Requiem: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart ed. Süssmayr

1. Requiem aeternam
2. Kyrie eleison
3. i. Dies irae
4. ii. Tuba mirum
5. iii. Rex tremendae
6. iv. Recordare
7. v. Confutatis
8. vi. Lacrimosa
9. i. Domine Jesu
10. ii. Hostias
11. Sanctus
12. Benedictus
Agnus Dei
13. Agnus Dei
14. i. Lux aeterna
15. ii. Cum sanctis tuis


1. Amen (Fugue) – C. Richard F Maunder
2. Sanctus – Robert D. Levin / Franz Beyer
3. Benedictus – Duncan Druce
4. Cum sanctis tuis – Robert D. Levin
5. Lacrymosa – Michael Finnissy

Disc two

Mozart’s Requiem: An Audio Documentary

1. Chapter 1: Mozart in 1791 and the commissioning of the Requiem
2. Chapter 2: The Composition of the Requiem
3. Chapter 3. Reception


"This is a performance of the highest quality by any standard."
- John Warrack, International Record Review

"Eminently recommendable to anyone on board with period instruments and with choirs of men and boys."
- James R. Oestreich, New York Times

"I really warmed to the combination of the King’s trebles and the period instruments sounds in the rich acoustic of the Chapel."
- Andrew McGregor, CD Review, BBC Radio 3

"A superb, full Süssmayr completion, along with fascinating, scholarly movements from Richard Maunder, Robert D Levin, Franz Beyer, Duncan Druce and Michael Finnissy."
- Stephen Pritchard, The Observer

"This is one of those solid, balanced recordings that serves as a model of how the conscientious musician consults with the texts, history and performance traditions, crafting something that does justice to all."
- John Terauds, Musical Toronto

"incandescent performance"
- William Dart William, The New Zealand Herald

Average Rating: 5 of 5 Total Reviews: 2 Write a review »

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Brilliant June 16, 2013
Reviewer: D Nunns from Burgess Hill, W Sussex United Kingdom  
I'm someone with a special interest in this sort of thing so was expecting to be difficult to impress.  I was impressed.
The whole project is just about my ideal kind of thing: scholarly and also performed with imagination and finesse.  I couldn't help but go straight to Cliff Eisen's highly informative and engaging historical notes on the second disc, and this set up listening to the music itself perfectly.
Stephen Cleobury and the sound engineers between them seem to have tamed the, I imagine, problematic acoustic - the moments when the echo smudged the harmony were few and far between.
Choir, orchestra and soloists all sound on fine form.  Generally I preferred the realisations which kept things reasonably simple, although Michael Finnissy's effort was worth the inclusion for his basset horn writing alone.
Would highly recommend this CD, whether you're interested in all the historical detail or not.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
A triumph June 5, 2013
Reviewer: Brian Salt from Brockham, Surrey United Kingdom  
This disc is an absolute cracker, and a must-hear for all Mozart enthusiasts.  The requiem is one of my favourite works: despite knowing that the experts have reservations about Sussmayr's completion it has a special place in my heart for personal reasons, and I'm sure it's the same for many other music-lovers.  Nonetheless it is absolutely fascinating to hear side by side in this way the differences when comparing to completions by others.  The informative second CD was a delight.  And of course the choir and soloists sound sublime.
In short, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?